Sunday, July 12, 2015

IE Compatibility

Different versions of IEs render web pages differently. That causes headache for web developers. Microsoft provides a compatibility solution for the old web sites. Since IE 8, the Internet Explorer browsers start to handle the X-UA-Compatible Meta Tag or HTTP response header. The web server can send it to tell the IE to render the web document in an older IE mode.

This link gives a detailed description of X-UA-Compatible:

The values of X-UA-Compatible are:
  • IE=5
  • IE=7
  • IE=8
  • IE=9
  • IE=10
  • IE=11
  • IE=edge
  • IE=EmulateIE7
  • IE=EmulateIE8
  • IE=EmulateIE9
  • IE=EmulateIE10
  • IE=EmulateIE11
The difference between IE=7 and IE=EmulateIE7 is that IE=EmulateIE7 wil determine whether to use IE7 mode or IE5 (Quirks) mode by the !DOCTYPE declaration.

This link explains the !DOCTYPE declaration and the IE modes:

IE also provides a Compatibility View List that an end user can manually add a site to make it be rendered as EmulateIE7. Users can also control to display all local intranet sites or even all web sites in EmulateIE7 mode. (

Another very good article about this topic:

No comments:

Get This <